Organising your content

day-planner-828611_960_720

A key component of social media success is regularity of your posts. Over time your followers will come to expect Facebook posts from you every day or x amount of tweets per day.

Having a plan for what content you’ll be publishing can really help you organise your days and weeks.

There are several ways to do this. I personally use a combination of a couple of methods-one is “old school” and the other slightly more modern 🙂

I have a whiteboard where I plan out our Facebook posts for the week. I really like using a whiteboard because of the flexibility it offers. Quite often our Facebook posts get shuffled around and it drives me crazy trying to update this on the computer or rubbing out pencil marks in my notebook. So far, it’s been working really well and makes it super easy to adjust scheduled posts as the need arises.

2) My second method is using Hootsuite to plan my tweets. I tend to schedule Facebook posts within Facebook itself as there are multiple people that need to see the scheduled posts. But, for tweets, Hootsuite is my one true love. The publisher feature is awesome for seeing all your scheduled posts at a glance. It’s also super easy to move them around, change the time they will be posted or simply delete them.

Hootsuite also has an auto-schedule feature, where an algorithm automatically figures out the most effective time for your tweet to be posted. Alternatives to Hootsuite are Buffer or Tweetdeck.

See here for my post all about why I love Hootsuite and the features it offers to make managing social media so much easier.

How do you organise your content? I’d love to know! Leave a comment below or send me a tweet @JuliadeRuiter.

 

One thought on “Organising your content

Leave a Reply

